The B. Stiff Flies from One Victory to the Next (Life of Privilege Continues)

Thought I’d send a smoke signal to let you guys know I’m still alive!
I’ve finished the first two books in my new Voivod series. It’s a historically accurate (but fictionalized) account of the life of Vlad the Impaler, the real-life Dracula. It has nothing to do with vampires or pasty fashionistas, and everything to do with medieval warfare and one man’s struggle against the Islamic slave trade in medieval Eastern Europe. I’m working on the third book in the four-book series, which is called Forest of Spears. It’s dynamite! The first two books are already available in hard copy, so there’s no reason to be jealous of the rich kids with their fancy e-readers.

saint stefan voivod of moldavia

I’d like to write some more historical fiction later, but first, I fully intend to finish Demonworld after Voivod. That’s right! Demonword books seven, eight, nine, and ten are going to launch one after the other, BAM BAM BAM, like a literary machinegun tearing apart everything in its sights.


I’m also writing for a few video games. I had an unexpected insight the other day that if a creator doesn’t keep a full plate, then depression comes as a natural consequence. A creator has to keep his to-do list so full that it becomes overwhelming. I don’t think the tricks we use to make our minds go quiet and harness our will are necessarily fool-proof; humans are born to do things, and creators especially are born to make things. So I’m pushing myself to do more and create more. Depression will be the first casualty in this sort of violent engagement with the enemy, but that’s a casualty that I’m willing to accept!

saint-nicholas16 (2)


In closing, if I could leave everyone with a piece of advice regarding time management and achieving goals, I can only say that if you’re on a bunch of drugs and you accidentally run over someone, you should keep driving as if nothing has happened. That usually works for me!



Kyle B. Stiff Update: Vlad the Impaler

Hello! Kept you waiting, huh?

Sorry for the long absence. My life went through a big shakedowns in which god-level cosmic forces steamrolled through every aspect of my existence. Everything that wasn’t nailed down was carried off only to be flung into a raging inferno. When my team of doctors finally let me out of the resurrection chamber, I was unrecognizable even to my own mother, with an elbow on my forehead and a spinal column dangling where my you-know-what used to be.

But I’m all better now! In fact, I’m in a situation where I can write for your enjoyment for hours and hours, each and every day. I really lucked out! In a few months I’ll start writing DEMONWORLD BOOK SEVEN: THE DEMON WAR. But first, I need to finish this short series of historical fiction books that I’ve been researching for so long. The series is called VOIVOD, and it’s about the life of Vlad the Impaler, also known as Dracula. I’m going for historical accuracy, which means there’s not going to be any vampires, or frankenfurters, nor any bigfeets or Loch Ness Monsters from the Black Lagoon. But don’t worry, the life of Vlad the Impaler was way more interesting than a bunch of drama club queens biting each other on the neck and collecting “swag” and “merch” from Hot Topic.

Mircea the Elder

Vlad was at the forefront of a war waged for slaves, and he took a stand that most people will never know about. His life story was written by his enemies. Once you strip away the propaganda, you’re left with a story about a man who was taken from his family, fought a war against child slavery, and was remembered as a monster. I’m going to release all four books fairly close to one another, all before the end of 2017 if things go according to plan. (Don’t worry, things never go according to plan.)


For readers of Demonworld and Heavy Metal Thunder, forgive me for the delay. I had to write this Vlad series because I was starting to become obsessed. I was reading book after book and having strange dreams and waking up overcome with emotion. I had an intense sense of betrayal, and after studying Vlad’s life, it made sense. The good news, for my regular readers, is that Heavy Metal Thunder Book Three: SLAUGHTER AT MASADA, is already written. The wizards and warriors at Cubus Games will begin work on the app any day now!

Mihael the Brave
Also, after my recent life changes, I’m a lot more aware of the fact that any of us can go at any minute. After I finish the series about Vlad, I might just go ahead and finish all of the Demonworld books. You guys have waited long enough!