Commence Operation: SOL INVICTUS

Or: Demonworld Five came out a year ago, what the hell have I been doing since then?!

By Kyle B. Stiff

Is it possible that the guy who can knock out a book in two months has had his thumb up his ass for an entire year?

No, of course it’s not possible.

hmt 2 cover small

One thing I did is write the second Heavy Metal Thunder book, which is now available at Amazon. Six hundred pages of branching-narrative choice-driven story for three bucks… you can’t beat that.

1410771_803807526302114_1069947344_o

But it didn’t take me an entire year to write one book. Oh, no, not even close. I don’t fuck around when it comes to fucking around. See, I got this crazy idea in my head that I could illustrate my own cover for Heavy Metal Thunder Book 2. When I found out that my skills had gotten rusty, I didn’t give up (like I should have), but instead I expanded the scope of my plans to include illustrating every Demonworld and Heavy Metal Thunder cover on my own. I even had trouble sleeping at night because all these “amazing” ideas would blast into my head. But when it came time to produce, I kept failing and had to restart over and over again.

1394408_675338509165315_963093022_n

Plus I’m working full-time these days. Burning through free time to work on awful-looking covers instead of writing like I should have been eventually beat the snot out of my once-virile body. After several months of this nonsense I had a breakdown and woke up naked in a pile of dried spaghetti next to a wall covered in pentagrams and scratch marks (and all of my fingernails were completely torn off). I took off my sunglasses, reflected on the limits inherent in my current incarnation, and then decided that I would never, ever, ever spend one more second worrying about covers ever again.

1426703_655827111104301_877861714_n

So that’s why the cover of Sol Invictus is a recycled palette-swap of the first one. Sorry about that. But anyway, after months of torturing myself, I’m alive again. I’ve got a couple of blog posts to knock out, then I’m going to finally write Demonworld Book 6: The Love of Tyrants. It’s going to be longer than the average Demonworld book, plus I’ve got to spend most of my day polishin’ knobs just to survive, but I’m a freakin’ SOLJAH so the next Demonworld’s gonna be in your hands before you know it!

547519_742215719140488_586475385_n

 

4 responses to “Commence Operation: SOL INVICTUS

    • Thanks for the support Junior! Don’t worry, I’m deep into it. Unfortunately disaster struck when my apartment got robbed! The good news is that I’m in the habit of hiding my laptop computer every day, so they didn’t get that. Otherwise they cleaned us out fairly well, so thumbs up to them! My door is fucked up now and I have a super-hot wife to protect, so we’re trying to secure a new place as fast as possible, but it’s really messed up my writing schedule.

      It’s crazy. I’m one of the poorest guys I know, I work full time, I try to knock these books out with all of my spare time – but then some lowlife thinks that I’M THE GUY THAT HE NEEDS TO ROB? A few blocks away from my house there are mansions where some pretty elite dudes have pools so big that they’re seriously considering getting another yacht to park beside their first yacht. Yes, they have yachts in their pools!!! But no, when it comes time to rob someone, if you want to strike it big then apparently you have to break into the tiny dilapidated cottage house that sits in an alley right next to a dumpster. “That guy’s barely living from paycheck to paycheck… let’s get him!” Ai yi yi, sometimes you just have to shake your head.

      But don’t worry, if they want to get me to stop writing Demonworld, they better bring a bazooka!

      Oh, I almost forgot. Leave me some Amazon reviews! Apparently potential readers love to see reviews. Or don’t leave one. You do whatever you want! Thanks for reading, I truly appreciate it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

